IMG_9887

Driftwood Elementary School has a new principal. Marina Sanchez-Rashid is leading the school after coming from Eagle Ridge Elementary School where was principal.

She believes in the importance of putting children first and is eager to meet the students on the first day of school. Sanchez-Rashid wants to move Driftwood from a “C” rated school to an “A” rated school.

“I am excited to be a part of this community. This school has a hard working staff. I want to encourage parent and community involvement. I want to make parents feel welcome here,” said Sanchez-Rashid.

She plans to begin reaching out to parents on the first day of school. She has been meeting with teachers and staff members and wants to get their input on ways to make the school even better.

“I don’t have all the answers and I believe in the team effort,” she said. “I have an open door policy and I want to hear from teachers and staff members. For me being a principal is something I do 24 hours a day, seven days a week.”

Sanchez-Rashid was born in Cuba and emigrated to the U.S. with her family at the age of 15. She remembers the hardship of living under the Castro regime and is thankful to have had the opportunity to live in the United States. As a young woman, she worked hard to achieve her goal of becoming an educator.

“I have done every job that takes place in a school. I have been a custodian, an office clerk, a para-professional, a teacher, an assistant principal and a principal,” said Sanchez-Rashid. “I will not ask someone to do something I would not do myself.”