IMG_9907

Jason Nault is the new prinicpal of J.P. Taravella High School. He comes to Coral Springs from North-Grand High School, an urban high school in Chicago.

Nault has been in public education since 2000. During most of that time, he served in the Chicago Public Schools working as a teacher, dean, assistant principal and principal. He holds a Master of Education and Doctor of Education from the University of Illinois at Chicago.

“My whole professional life has been in urban schools. They had their challenges as do many urban districts,” said Nault. “While we lacked some resources, we always set the bar high.”

A new challenge attracted Nault to Coral Springs. He has family who live in Naples and wanted to be closer to them. He wanted to live in a warmer climate and wanted an opportunity to grow more professionally. “With all the budget cuts in Chicago, I was being asked to do more and more with less and less. I was having to cut staff and achieve higher test results. I wanted to come to Florida,” he said.

Nault realizes there will some challenges at Taravella. The school is much larger than the one where he served as principal. He knows there are students who are struggling to learn English and some who are facing academic difficulties.

J.P. Taravella’s previous principal Shawn Cerra is now the athletic director for Broward County Public Schools. “The previous principal was very good and I have some big shoes to fill,” he said. “I want make continuous improvements at Taravella. I want this to be a high performing school. I want the teachers here to go the extra mile for students. I want teachers and administrators for form relationships with students and parents. I want the community to feel welcome at J.P. Taravella High School. I want to empower the adults who work here to be successful,” he said.

He also believes in the importance of extra activities. “I don’t want J.P. Taravella High School to be just about books and academics. I want the students to participate in sports, band, debate, culinary arts and other activities,” he said. “I want people to know about the successful band program we have here. This school has a lot to offer.”

Nault wants students to go on to successful lives after graduation. “I don’t J.P. Taravella to be end all experience. This is a place for young people to start. I want them to get a start here and go on to success in college and career,” he said.

J.P Taravella has many successful programs. The school’s marching band has won many accolades over the years. Its business programs have earned national and international recognition. The drama program is well known. Students who graduate from J.P. Taravella have gone on to successful careers.