The School Board of Broward County, Florida, unanimously elected Abby M. Freedman as Chair and Nora Rupert as Vice Chair. The nominations and voting took place during the School Board’s Annual Organizational Meeting, following a swearing-in ceremony for re-elected School Board members.

Abby M. Freedman was elected in 2012 to represent District 4 and was re-elected in 2014.  Freedman previously served as the School Board’s Vice Chair. She received a Bachelor of Science degree in Business Administration from the University of Florida and earned a Juris Doctorate from Stetson University College of Law.

Nora Rupert was elected in 2010 to represent District 7 and re-elected in 2014. She received a Bachelor of Arts degree in Mass Communications from Florida Southern College and is a graduate of the Star Program at Florida Atlantic University for alternative education certification.  She is also a former high school reading teacher.

Four School Board members, all re-elected in the 2016 election, were sworn in today during a ceremony held at the Dillard Center for the Performing Arts in Fort Lauderdale.  Board members sworn in were Robin Bartleman, Countywide, Seat 9; Heather P. Brinkworth, District 3; Patricia Good, District 2; and Dr. Rosalind Osgood, District 5.

School Board members serving current terms include: Abby Freedman, District 4; Donna P. Korn, Countywide, Seat 8; Laurie Rich Levinson, District 6; Ann Murray, District 1; and Nora Rupert, District 7.