Chi Psi Omega Chapter of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated celebrated Founders’ Weekend, January 12-14, 2017; attending various events. The sorority is celebrating 109 years old and the oldest Greek-Letter organization within the National Pan-Hellenic Council established for women. It boasts membership of approximately 300,000 college-trained and educated women.  International President, Dr. Dorothy Buckhanan Wilson ( 2014-2018 ), allows local chapters to conduct/perform uplifting and enhancing service projects within their local communities under a comprehensive and phenomenal program “Launching New Dimensions of Service”.

Chi Psi Omega Chapter three days of celebratory events began Thursday night with a Sisterly Relations social outing at a movie theater to see “Hidden Figures”, which received first-place rating among movies its first week. The movie was an initiative spawn by the international sorority’s Corporate Office for all of its local chapters to follow. Most importantly, the movie chronicled the achievements and amazing accomplishments of three African-American female NASA trailblazers and pioneers; sought because they were top in their respective fields of expertise to move the United States in becoming #1 in the Space Race with Russia. The movie depicted a “chilling” story of the females’ achievements, against insurmountable odds in a segregated south during the Sixties. This, now, told story is begging the question, “who knew”?  One of the breakers of the glass ceiling was a mathematician and physicist, Katherine Johnson, who calculated John Glenn’s Space Orbit and is a recipient of the Presidential Medal Of Freedom; another was Mary Jackson, aeronautical engineer and Dorothy Vaughan, computer programmer/analyst and supervisor. The pioneers are all members of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated. While watching the movie, chapter members enjoyed dinner entrees of their choosing; ending the evening with each attendee receiving a pink gift bag filled with goodies, complimentary of the Sisterly Relations Committee.

The second activity took place Friday night, where another group of chapter members gathered along with other sorority members within their cluster and saw the same movie, received premium seating, complimentary popcorn and valet parking.

For the third event, Saturday, January 14th, chapter members joined more than 450 sorority members from Fort Pierce to South Miami for the first Cluster I Founders’ Day Luncheon.  The guest speaker was Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated First-Vice President, Dr. Glenda Baskin Glover and current president of Tennessee State University, Nashville, Tennessee. Cluster I Sorority members, adorned in their pink and green with a strand of pearls received a powerful message about continuing to be good stewards within their respective communities. The  program included a special occasion message about AKA; followed with skits about the founders of the sorority, a personalized song about AKA, gifts and trinkets for attendees, acknowledgments of international and regional committee members, chapters’ presidents, silver stars, golden members and especially new ones, Sorors of the Year and out of town visitors.

Fifty-two chapter members participated in the celebratory founders’ weekend of festivities: Venetta McCullough, Chapter President;  Christanie Abernathy, Angela Adeshina-Morrison, Andrea Bailey-Dowling, Kandia Batchelor, LaKeitha Baugh, Ernestine H. Bobb, Lisa Brown, Miriam Cato, Nickisha Coachman, La’Chavious Clark, Sherri D. Cooper, Michelle Daily, Alana DaSent, Bennie J. Edwards, Franchesca Fontus, Cristal Joi Ford, Quowanda Ford-Brown, Jerelene S. Franklin, Tanika Franklin-Francis, Tamara Freeman-Battle, Revertha W, Grace, Michelle Green, Ashley Greene, Vanessa B. Hargray, Olivia B. Hilton, Khira Holloway, Sandy Isaac, Karena Ivey, Heidi Ledgister-Richards, Ann Burnett (Lee),Catrice Lee-Brown, Joel Daniell McCray, Takesha McCray, Christina McNair, Amelie Oshikoya, Jamala Patterson, Josetta B. Patterson, Bernice Pearson, Veronica E. Phillips, Kenyeta Pino, Samantha Preston, Tracy Roach, Antionece Robinson, Lisa Smith, Barbara Thomas, Joyce Toran, Dione Trawick, Cheryl Waide, Kimberly M. Williams, Malikh Williams and Luwando Wright-Hines.