The J.P. Taravella DECA program is very successful and has won many awards the local, state, national and international levels. Now, DECA members are preparing to compete at the state level next weekend in Orlando. DECA members gave presentations to experienced business people in the community. Some of the people evaluating the presentations were Taravella DECA alumni.

“We are having the students do role playing in front of people with business experience,” said Laurie Acosta, a Taravella DECA advisor.

The DECA students will be presenting their successful program Here 2 Help and a program on Financial Literacy.

Sarah Zordbedian, a Taravella DECA alumni who is now studying marketing at the University of South Florida and working on an internship for Orlando City Soccer observed the presentations. “I saw some amazing presentations today. I was in DECA all four years of high school and I loved the experience,” she said.

Macy Claprood, a Taravella DECA alumni loves helping the students. She has established a business teaching children to swim. “I liked the presentations I saw,” she said.

Kelly McCormack, who works at Florida Atlantic University was also pleased with the students and their work. “I was very impressed by what I saw today,” she said. “These are good students.”