John McKroid was pleased with his big victory at the Extreme Kayak Fishing Tournament Summer Slam Part off the coast of Pompano Beach. Everyone had a great time and most look forward to next year’s tournament.

McKroid won $5,000 for catching a 71.9 pound Wahoo. He did well in other categories so his total winnings were $6,900. He caught a total with of 101.7 pounds in fish.

“Everything came together for me today and I caught a big Wahoo. I had a great time today,” said McKroid.

Joe Hector, CEO of Extreme Kayak Fishing was pleased with the event. He said there were 101 participants in the fishing tournament. “We broke records with the Wahoos that were caught today. We had some big Wahoos. We had a good tournament,” he said.

Erick Coll said he enjoyed being the tournament. “I caught one Kingfish. It was about 35 inches long. This tournament was fantastic and well organized. I love kayak fishing,” he said.